All passengers departing on a flight from Malaysia will now have to pay tax in the form of a departure levy ranging from RM8 to RM150.

The amount paid will depend on the flight destination and travel class.
For flights departing from Malaysia to other ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) countries, passengers travelling in economy class will need to pay RM8, while those flying in other classes will have to pay RM50.

The departure tax will be higher for flights to non-ASEAN destinations: economy class passengers will be required to pay RM20, while those travelling in premium classes will need to pay RM150.

ASEAN countries are Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Children under 24 months and connecting and transit passengers spending less than 12 hours in Malaysia will be exempt.

Quick enquiry

Fill in the form below and a member of our team will get back to you directly.

By clicking submit, you are requesting Simplexity Travel Management to perform a service, and are agreeing to have personal data stored and processed securely in line with our Privacy Policy.

Latest Posts